In order to strengthen their cooperation and to play an active role in the public transport landscape, some railway companies decided in 2003 to set up RAILplus as a sole proprietorship. In 2005, the company changed into an AG and from then on consisted of seven shareholders (AB, ASM, BDWM, FART, MGB, RhB and WSB). In 2006, four more courses will be added (eg, RBS, BOB and MOB). In 2018, seven companies from western Switzerland joined RAILplus AG and since May 2019 the two Ticino railways (FART - Centovalli and FLP) have also been involved.