Universität Luzern

The University of Lucerne is the youngest university in Switzerland. Its roots stretch back as far as 1600, but it has existed as a modern university only since 2000. The number of students has grown from about 250 in the founding year 2000 to currently around 3.200 students. The University of Lucerne has just four faculties and one department and is distinguished by a streamlined and clearly identifiable profile. The four faculties (theology, law, humanities and social sciences, economics and management) and the Department of Health Sciences and Medicine allow the university to focus on core areas, thereby grouping together its competence in humanities, training law students and economics and management. The system of study at the University of Lucerne conforms to a pan-European standard in accordance with the Bologna Process model. Studies are arranged according to a three-step system. The bachelor’s degree is awarded after 6 semesters. Students can then acquire a master’s degree after another 3-4 semesters. Subject to achieving the necessary qualification, students can then take up doctoral studies. This system of study has been implemented in all faculties. The convenient size of the University of Lucerne provides students with a great degree of freedom and permits innovative subject combinations. Study courses are offered in traditional subjects as well as in overlapping integrated subjects. Students can also combine elements from different faculties. The excellent student support system is a special feature of the University of Lucerne.